Vegan before 6, continued

Women look at me like I’m insane when I complain about my husband being the family cook, but here’s the thing. When you’re not the cook, you lose control over what kinds of food you eat.

My husband is a big guy who loves to cook and likes to eat meat, and lots of it. It is not a meal if it doesn’t contain meat. A dinner must contain a meat, a starch, and (not much of) a veg. Soup and a salad is not dinner. A sandwich is not dinner.

To top it off, my husband is an independent contractor, a night owl who works from home and sets his own schedule. I don’t have that luxury. My regular office hours are 9-6, so when I get home at 6:30, the last thing I want to do is cook.

So that’s why I find Mark Bittman’s Vegan Before 6 concept so intriguing. Basically, his strategy is to eat strictly vegan during the day, with lots of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes and nuts. Then at night, you eat what you want. It will take some planning and pre-cooking to find things to bring to work to eat. And I plan to make some adaptations — you can pry the half-and-half container from my cold dead hands — but overall it will be a lot healthier than what I do now, which is skip breakfast, eat a lean cuisine for lunch, come home starving and have a huge “snack” while waiting for dinner.

I have the book on my iPad, and am planning to do a pantry inventory/shop this weekend.

3 thoughts on “Vegan before 6, continued

  1. Tara

    Oh God, the after-work snack! That’s my downfall. I have zero interest in veganism, but doing it during just part of the day *is* intriguing.

    Reply
    1. timesnlatte Post author

      Isn’t it? Bittman says that he started eating this way when his blood work showed signs of pre-diabetes and high cholesterol, and his doctor suggested he go vegan. He didn’t want to do that, either, so came up with this idea. He lost 35 lbs and had good blood work in a few months.

      He’s very much about making it fit your way of life, recognizing that there will be days when you will eat the pizza. It’s not an all or nothing approach, which appeals to me.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: What I read this week, version 6.22 | Two Hands and a Roadmap

Leave a Reply

