Knit the Sky

I came across a very cool knitting project the other day that I think I’m going to do as my back to school project.

Using two blues, two grays and a white, you knit a stripe every day that reflects the color of the sky that day. The originator of this project uses garter stitch, so that’s knitting two rows back and forth. The time you spend doing this project depends on the gauge of yarn you choose. The kit comes with lace weight, which will take a year to make a five-foot scarf.

I’m thinking of starting mine on September 24, the autumnal equinox. Not sure if I’m going to use lace weight or not. And as much as I like the idea of taking the time to knit just one row every day, I know I probably won’t, so I may just take a quick photo and then knit when I have time.

The designer calls her projects conceptual knitting. I like the ideas a lot, especially the social knitwork scarf, but she uses a lot of orange, and I am not an orange person.

Leave a Reply

